For those of you who know me know that I am a huge Disney fan. I’m that person who calms down the group when they see prices for a bottle of coke or a slice of pizza from Astro Blasters. You could say I have Disney’s back on all things.
HOWEVER, recently I experienced what ended up being the worst Disney experience to date. Last Friday I drove out to Disney around 2pm to meet up with my family. As I pulled into the parking area around 2:30; low and behold a big sign saying that the main parking structure (Mickey & Friends) is closed due to overcrowding in the park. So they redirected me and thousands of other cars through Downtown Disney around Disney’s California Adventure, out onto Harbor Drive and had us drive all the way down to where the Anaheim convention center was. By the time I got to the new parking lot Disney had recently established it was 4:15pm. And it didn’t end there. Once I parked I then had to wait in a line (mind you it was about 98 degrees out) which consisted of about 500-600 people to catch a seat on one of the charter buses they were using to shuttle the public over. When I finally set foot into Disneyland it was 5:10pm. Instead of feeling happy and stress free I graced Disney with a grumpy well annoyed attitude. I couldn’t even enjoy the time I actually had in the park because I was still recovering from the DREADFUL parking experience.
I understand perfection doesn’t exist but I feel like with as much money Disney is grossing perfection is completely possible. I expect the best from Disney and I was thoroughly disappointed.
The reason why they’re doing this is because of HalloweenTime at Disneyland and DCA. HalloweenTime is bringing in so many people that they have to close down the Mickey and Friend’s parking structure from 2pm-6pm to save a couple thousand spots for the annual passholders that come later on at night.
The new parking structure was named Buzzlight Year; great name… real crappy system.